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What is an ABLE Account? 
ABLE Accounts are savings accounts for people with disabilities and 
their families. The passing of the Stephen Beck Jr., Achieving a Better 
Life Experience Act of 2014, or the ABLE Act, provides the opportunity 
to save money beyond typical resource limits. 
 
Several thousand Idahoans with disabilities and their families depend 
on public benefits for healthcare, food, utility, and housing assistance. 
ABLE Accounts allow eligible Idahoans to save money to purchase 
qualified disability goods and services that will help them gain 
independence and choice without losing the assistance they need. 
 
Brief Overview 
ABLE Accounts are savings investment accounts for people with 
disabilities and their families. ABLE Accounts provide the opportunity to 
save money and keep needed benefits. 
 

Highlights 
• The beneficiary of the account owns the account. 
• Income earned by the accounts will not be Federally taxed. 
• Contributions to the account made by any person (the account 

owner, family, and friends) will be made using post-taxed dollars 
and will not be tax deductible. Some states allow for state income 
tax deductions for contributions made to an ABLE Account. 

• Idaho does not offer a state income tax deduction. 
• Money in an ABLE Account does not count against resource limits 

for SSI, Medicaid, and other State and Federal benefits. 
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• You can only have one ABLE Account per eligible individual. 
• You do not go to or visit a bank to set one up. The majority of 

ABLE Accounts are managed through websites or “online portals.” 
• Paper sign-up is also available for some ABLE programs. 

 
Am I eligible for an ABLE Account? 

• Only people with significant disabilities AND a documented onset 
of disability before turning age 26* are eligible to open an ABLE 
Account. (*Please note that the anticipated age adjustment to age 
46 will go into effect on 1/1/2026.) 

• If you meet the age requirement AND are also receiving benefits 
under SSI or SSDI, then you are automatically eligible to establish 
an ABLE Account. 

• If you do not receive SSI or SSDI, but you do meet the age of onset 
disability requirement, you may still be able to open an ABLE 
Account.  

• If you meet Social Security’s medical definition regarding 
significant functional limitations AND you receive a letter of 
certification from a licensed physician, you can open an ABLE 
Account. 

• You do not need to be 26 or younger to open an ABLE Account. 
You may be over the age of 26, but must have a disability onset 
date before your 26th birthday. 

 
Are there limits to how much money can be put into an ABLE 
Account? 

Annual Contributions: 
• The total annual contribution by all individuals, including family 

and friends, for a single tax year is $17,000 (amount will be 
adjusted for inflation). 

• $17,000 is the maximum amount any person may gift another 
person without reporting it to the IRS (gift tax exclusion). 
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Limitations for SSI and other public benefits: 

• The first $100,000 in an ABLE Account is exempt from the SSI 
$2,000 individual resource limit. 

• When an ABLE Account balance exceeds $100,000, the 
beneficiary’s SSI cash benefit (and likely other public benefits) will 
be stopped until the account falls back below $100,000. 

• While the beneficiary’s SSI cash benefit is suspended, there is no 
loss of Medicaid eligibility or services. 

 
Medicaid payback. 

When the ABLE Account owner passes away, the state Medicaid 
program may file a claim against the account to reclaim Medicaid 
related expenses. 
 
Which expenses are allowable by ABLE Accounts? 

• A qualified disability expense is any expense related to an 
individual as a result of living a life with a disability. 

• Any other expenses which help improve health, independence, 
and quality of life. 

 
Qualified disability expenses include: 

Education, housing, transportation, assistive technology, healthcare, 
basic living expenses, personal assistant services, and employment 
training and support. 
 
Do I have to wait for my state to establish a program before opening 
an account? 

• No! You may sign up for an out of state program if that state 
offers out-of-state enrollment. 

• Idaho does NOT offer its own ABLE Account at this time. 
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• For help on which states are offering programs and information 
about these programs, contact the Idaho State Independent, 
Living Counsel (SILC) for ABLE information and technical 
assistance. 

 
State Programs accepting enrollment nationwide include: 

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, 
Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, 
Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, 
Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, 
Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Virginia. 
 
How is an ABLE Account different from a Special Needs or Pooled 
Trust? 

• An ABLE Account may provide more choice and control for the 
beneficiary and their family. The cost of establishing an account 
will be less than Special Needs or Pooled Income Trusts. 

• Some programs offer investment and savings options, allowing for 
greater flexibility for growth. 

• Determining which option is best for you will depend on your 
individual circumstances. 

• For many families, the ABLE Account will be an additional option, 
rather than a Trust Program. 

 
How will I know which state ABLE program is right for me? 
Several states have opened ABLE programs that allow individuals 
nationwide to open an ABLE Account, regardless of where they live. 
When comparing state ABLE programs, you may want to consider the 
following questions to find the best one for you: 
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Opening an Account 
• What proof will the ABLE program need from you in order to open 

an account? 
• What proof will you need to show that your disbursements are 

qualified expenses?  
• Is there a minimum contribution to open an ABLE Account? 
• Is there a fee to open an account? If so, how much is that fee? 

 
Maintaining Accounts and Fees 

• Is there a required minimum contribution to your account? If so, 
what is the amount?  

• Are the fees paid upfront or are they reduced if you leave your 
money invested for several years? 

• Are there restrictions on how often you can withdraw money 
from your account? 

 
Finding the right state or program--Additional things to think about… 
 

Investment opportunities 
• What investment options does the state ABLE program offer?  
• Will the options available meet your needs regarding growth, 

while limiting the risk you are willing to take with contributions to 
your ABLE Account? 

• Does the state program offer incentives or additional benefits 
(such as a match or a rewards program, or financial literacy 
information for account holders) to help you save, contribute to 
your account, grow the account, and manage your invested 
dollars? If so, what is it? Most important: Do you understand it?  

 
Don’t wait! Start today by calling the Idaho SILC. Ask for ABLE technical 
assistance and information. 
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SILC Technical Assistance. 
The Idaho SILC provides technical assistance, information and Financial 
Literacy training. Please contact us to learn more about ABLE today. 
 
Contact us at: 
SILC 
120 S. Cole Rd. 
Boise, ID 83709 
208-334-3800 
1 800-487-4866 
Email jami.davis@silc.idaho.gov. 
Website: https://silc.idaho.gov 
 
The information enclosed is not suitable for benefit planning, legal, or 
financial advice. Please consult with a qualified benefits, planner, an 
attorney, or qualified financial advisor should you have specific 
concerns related to opening an ABLE Account. 
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